The “Carrie” Coat

I have a confession to make. I am a bit obsessed with ALL of the coats Sarah Jessica Parker wears as Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City. I’d say it was how I related to Carrie the most…she obviously had a love of coats and jackets, which has also been the truth for me since I was a teenager. Well, about four years ago, I was gifted the entire 6 season set of DVD’s for Christmas and it opened up a whole new world of “Make it” ideas for yours truly.

One particular coat that Carrie wears in Season 4 (?) is this amazing surface designed ivory coat that she wears over a blue dress when she goes on her first date with the politician. This is hands down my favorite coat she wears in the entire series. So, of course I decided I had to make one for myself.

I wanted it to be warm enough to wear in the cold weather, so I made it from a Wool blend felt, and then surface designed the entire front…collar included. I knew it was going to be a project when I decided on how I wanted to execute this ivory wonder, and I can honestly say, a project it was. But sooooo worth it… ;)

dsc_1346 dsc_1349 dsc_1408 dsc_1385 dsc_1369

Hand appliqued surface design. I used a bunch of different trims, and made some of my own appliques with various fabrics.

close-collar2 dsc_1356 dsc_1394 dsc_1417 dsc_1300 dsc_1312 dsc_1327 dsc_1422

I also made this 1940’s style dress out of faux suede. I only made it last Fall, and it has surelyΒ made its way to the top of my “favorites for Fall and Winter” list.

dsc_1426 dsc_1432 dsc_1446 tree2 tree1 lake bridge

 

Just couldn’t resist a few wintery pics, since this weekend was our first official snowfall of the season. ;)

 

Outfit details: Coat and Dress, made by me; Needlepoint purse-vintage; Boots by Aldo, similar here.

Leave a Reply

