Ice Cold Blue

I did it again. I made another ice-dyed coat. I had been dreaming up this one for quite some time, but only just executed the project. And like a lot of projects in life…it didn’t come out the way I thought it would. But, you know what they say: good things happen by accident.

For this go-around, I first made the coat out of Vogue Pattern #9212Β (instead of the basic coat style of my initial sketch) with a white twill fabric and then used your tried and true Rit DyesΒ to do the ice dyeing.

My sketch here:

pics232-copy-3

I had actually anticipated it including a lot more white–to look more like traditional Shibori with indigo dye (kind of like the stuff in this post fromΒ a while ago) But, I think I was a bit overzealous with the dye this time around, so it ended up totally covered with blue. And even though it didn’t turn out how I had hoped…it still ended up pretty awesome.

dsc_1099-2 dsc_1117-2 dsc_1090-2 dsc_1111-2 dsc_1077-2 dsc_1120-2

I thought I would make the lining totally electric, since the coat shell turned out pretty dynamic.

dsc_1097-2 dsc_1121-2

I don’t currently have this listed in my Etsy shop, but if there is any interest in a custom version, please send an email my way. ;)

Remaining Outfit details:

Denim-Gap; Belt-an old men’s belt; Booties-Lucky Brand

Leave a Reply

