Made of Sentiment

A couple months ago, my aunt gave meΒ some old yardages of fabric that belonged to my grandmother. Some wool, some silk, some cotton. So, of course I want to make something meaningful to me out of these different fibers.

I decided to tackle the wool first and make a couple different coats (the second one is coming soon in another post).

When I brought out the first few yards of wool to get to work, I saw that the original tag was still attached from when my grandma purchased the fabric. Pretty cool. Especially because J.P. Stevens & Co. was a very well known wool company that began back in the early 1800’s. The textile company was bought out back in 1988, so I’m guessing the fabric itself is from the 1960’s or 70’s.

For being 40 or 50 years old, this wool is in A-Mazing condition. Since wool is known to be a yummy treat for moths, I was surprised to see that there was no visible moth damage. Apparently, my grandma (and aunt) kept this wool totally secure from the fiber hungry little creatures.

tag

Alright, on with it…here is the coat I made from this super conditioned historic wool:

dsc_1537-2

(Made from Butterick Pattern #6385)

dsc_1529-2 dsc_1554-2 dsc_1516-4 dsc_1514-2 dsc_1610-10-2 dsc_1532-2 dsc_1578-2-2 dsc_1602-2-2

An amazing color of blue like this deserves an equally amazing color partner for the lining. I found this really cool dark teal blue crepe with a slight paisley print that I thought complemented it perfectly.

dsc_1624-2-2

Working with wool is almost incomparable. It’s such a manageable fiber, and I’ve always thought that the solid colored wool coats like this look even more crisp and finished when they have evident top-stitching. Thus, I top-stitched basically every seam on this baby.

dsc_1649-2-2 dsc_1482-2 dsc_1490-2 dsc_1478-2

I’m not exactly sure what my grandma initially intended on making out of this wool, and I doubt it would have ever crossed her mind that her grand-daughter would be the one utilizing it 40 or 50 years after she bought it . Regardless, hopefully she’s looking down and I’ve made her smile. :)

Stay tuned for the second woolen coat I made from more vintage wool!

 

Outfit details: Sweater & denim:Gap; Sorel boots; Scarf is from Portobello market in London.

Leave a Reply

