70’s Suede

Nothing quite like a suede shearling coat. Especially when you find one from the 1970’s, that is suuuuper 1970’s. Honestly, I couldn’t help but play dress-up with this one. I wanted to see how she moved and if she ‘worked well with others‘. Β Ya know what I mean? ;)

Let’s be real, if you put on a suede coat…you’re basically rocking it no matter how you’re wearing it. I mean, it’s a suede coat. That itself makes you feel like an instant rock-star. And bonus that this one has the faux fur collar to up the ante just a smidge, and reallllly reign in that 70’s vibe.

 

dsc_1434-1 dsc_1427 dsc_1462-11 dsc_1416-1 dsc_1554 dsc_1412 dsc_1569 dsc_0012 dsc_0005 dsc_1394-1 dsc_1482 dsc_1547-2 dsc_1546-1 dsc_1506

This scarf has definitely had a great ROI. I can’t count the number of times I’ve used it–and for different things….in the hair, around the neck, as a belt, a bracelet….the greatest part is that it’s 100% hand dyed silk. And bursting with vibrancy.

dsc_1500 dsc_1602 dsc_1545-1 dsc_1613

I have a confession. I have a tad bit of an obsession with white blouses. I don’t think I’ll share how many versions of a white blouse I own but the thing is, they’re always a fine option. For basically any occasion. Dress them up or down and they’ll always be loyal to you.

I made this particular white blouse a while back and boy, was it a bit of a challenge. That seems to happen when you decide to manipulate commercialized patterns. But hey, the end result was exactly as I had hoped…so that made the struggle worth while.

dsc_1647

Bishop sleeves are some of my faves. The silhouette is just awesome and totally flattering.

dsc_1674 dsc_1682-2-1

(NecklacesΒ will be listed in the Etsy shop soon, so check back if you’re interested ;) )

dsc_1661

Also made this vest over the summer to use up some last bits of velvet. The color is this really unique hybrid color–like a greyish blue/green. A great neutral shade.

dsc_1499 dsc_0035 dsc_1382

 

As I’m sitting here finishing this post and looking back at the snowy pictures…I can’t help but chuckle a little because when we shot these photos I intended to hold onto them for a bit before posting. Little did I know it would be a balmy 65 degree February day when I decided to post. So, today the suede coat is hanging out inside. Perhaps the lighter weight suede jacket is a better option for the day. After all, I would still like to feel like a rock-star ;)

Outfit details:

Coat: Vintage, Buy it here; Top & Necklace: Made by me; Denim: Gap; Boots: Aldo; Hat: Anthropologie (no longer available); Scarf: Vintage find.

Leave a Reply

