Summer Making

As an experienced fabric hoarder, I will say it is always extremely exciting to have that “aha!” moment when deciding what to use specific fabric for.

I had been hanging on to this printed cotton for 8 months or so because I just couldn’t decide what to make from it. Especially because there was only about a yard and a half, which meant I was somewhat limited, project-wise. Finally, I found that perfect something (M7603) after my most recent McCall’s pattern haul ($1.99 patterns? Yes. Please.) And hey, look! Another print! I’m on a roll… ;)

This McCalls pattern was very simple, and definitely a great basic to add to the summer wardrobe. I already have plans to make a few more versions.

The fabric I used was more that belonged to my Grandma… I guess I now know where my fabric hoarding habit came from. And the buttons are vintage that belonged to the other Grandma. ;)

Since I didn’t quite have enough of the printed fabric to use for the neck and shoulder binding, I used some solid dark pink which added a great contrast.

I am loving my new [vintage] basket purse. I’ve been searching for one of these for two summers now. I just couldn’t find one I liked enough, so you can imagine how happy I was when I found this one on Etsy from ThreeSparrowVintage. It’s the perfect summer bag because it coordinates with just about anything, plus it’s cheery and puts a smile on your face. ;)

 

Outfit details:

Jeans-Gap; Shoes-DSW; Earrings-Earthbound; Sunglasses-vintage; Basket purse-Etsy

Leave a Reply

