Dressing for the Summer

I’m sitting here writing on a verrry brisk August evening, and I’m trying to think of where the summer time went.

Oh yeah…I was sewing. I’ve sewn a LOT this summer, and honestly haven’t been able to keep up with posts the way I intended. Included in one of these summer sewing projects has been #v9253 as part of another McCall’s sewing contest. This was a pattern I had really wanted to try, so when they announced another contest, I was definitely up for it.

 

The pattern sort of reminded me of a Kimono robe, so I thought a floral print would be fitting. This fabric is from JoAnn’s and is a rayon Challis…which was lovely to work with and drapes very well for this particular pattern.

I love when a dress gives a great spin ;)

The pattern itself easy to work with and pretty quick, which is always appreciated in my book. ;)

 

Outfit details: Purse-Vintage from Etsy; Shoes-from a friend; Bangles-from various places.

2 thoughts on “Dressing for the Summer”

  1. Hi, I came across you blog via a Pinterest search for V9253 and just wanted to say that I love your version of it. I have the pattern as well but have yet to make it; I fear that I will look like I am wearing a robe as ‘real clothes’ lol. I think your floral print is perfect. It is slightly kimonoesque without looking like you are wearing your lounge wear outside :) Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I totally had the same fears! So I really wanted to make sure I chose a fabric that would help contrast that fear. I also took up the neckline, because I thought that deep V plunge was what was making it seem a little too robe-like. I think it definitely helped. Happy sewing! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

