White Cotton Dresses

I had a summer sewing resolution this year to make more dresses. Well, ladies and gentlemen, I am proud to announce that I have actually come through with that resolution, thanks in part to the McCall’s #V9253 contest from my last post, and also thanks to the fact that I’ve been a little bit better with the sewing self-discipline this summer.

As seen on my Pinterest boards, I’ve really been into flowy white cotton dresses lately, and one has been on my Make List practically the entire summer. The design I had in mind included something easy breezy with brown buttons, going either mid-way or all the way down. So when this Butterick pattern (#6363) appeared in my stash ;) it was a light bulb moment…! My perfect white dress pattern. Wooo!

Given it is white, and cotton…a slip is necessary to wear underneath this number. I admit, I don’t mind slips. I know most women (especially younger) feel slips are a bit of a hassle–but seriously, there’s a reason for them. Not only are they are saviors for unlined white dresses, they also bring back a little nostalgia and femininity to the art of dressing, because ladies…dressing is in fact an art form. Mmmhmm.

These peep-toes round out the entire ensemble perfectly. ;)

Complete with the brown buttons ;)

What I really love about a great white dress though, is of course the versatility. ^ This would totally be an appropriate dinner outfit, but if I wanted, I could make it more casual with some sandals, a sweater, and soft waves and take my basket purse to a picnic. ;)

Outfit details:

Bracelet-H&M (no longer available); Earrings-Vintage (mom’s); Basket purse-Vintage (etsy); Shoes-Target (no longer available)

Leave a Reply

