What a Mint

If you’re a designer or maker, you will understand when I say that there are some things you create that feel just a bit more special than the others. Maybe it’s a project that you dreamed of and made it come to life, or maybe it was something you had a long-time idea for and then finally took the steps to actually execute, so the whole process seemed like a long time coming. Or maybe just certain ones make you feel more excited than others.

Today, I bring you one of those pieces. One that makes me feel just a bit more excited. This was something I thought of making for a while, and didn’t actually take AS long as I expected it would altogether. Which is always welcome.

I won’t lie. I’ve really been loving this kimono trend. They really are great pieces to just throw on. I had the idea to make this for a little while, knowing that I wanted it to be mint green and have a lot of beading. Then I decided that a kimono style would be perfect because it’d bring a different take than what most of the retailers are carrying right now. And just as I’d hoped, the mint green works really well with all the silvery embellishment.

I know what you’re thinking. “That’s a lottttta beading.” Yes, it is. But I most certainly did not do that myself. I’m all for finding new uses for old clothes, so this beautiful beading came from a formal top I found at a thrift store that I cut up into pieces to use as appliques for my jacket.

This was the first time I’ve actually experimented with scuba knit. And I must say, it was a good experience. So you can probably expect to see more scuba-knitted pieces from me in the future. ;)

I like the idea of styling this jacket in a sort of semi-formal way with jeans and heels, but I am already imagining how I can wear it for a more formal occasion–like under a dress or with a great pair of pants.

 

Outfit Details:

Jacket: altered pattern #V9253; Jeans: Gap; Sunglasses: Jessica Simpson; Shoes: DSW (no longer available) but similar here; Clutch: Anthropologie (no longer available)

Leave a Reply

